Well this weekend I finally managed to get some much needed fishing in, it was long overdue because work and other commitments have just made it near impossible to get out. The first bit of fishing I managed to get in was at a local fishery, Northbrook Fishery, in east ashling. It was a lovely day weather wise, and the mrs had decided that she would let me go out and have a cast or two. My intention was to have a few casts, then hand her the rod and see if she had been watching. My word she had! I was picking fish up for fun on buzzers, sight casting to fish that were moving close to the surface and watching their reaction as I twitched the flies slowly back. These fish were like Arnold swarzenegger with the fight they gave, flying all over the lake! So when I passed the rod to my mrs it was no surprise that she hooked up on her first ever cast! But what I hadn’t banked on was the size of her fish, as it neared the surface all I could hear was cries of “it’s going to pull me in”. As I netted it, I couldn’t believe it, an 8lb rainbow! Beginners luck? We will have to go back and see, it’ll give me another excuse to go fishing 🙂

20130604-221811.jpg

The following day the weather continued to stay warm and bright, and with past stories and rumours that mayfly had finally graced us down on the chalkstreams a quick smile in the girlfriends direction and we were on the road to the river. I decided to stick a mayfly setup up, only to then realise that I had left my mayfly box at the side of the vice when tying some new patterns up! Schoolboy error… So I decided on a bit of sport, so set up a duo outfit on my little 6′ #2 rod. What a decision this turned out to be, as not many fish were coming for the hundreds of mayflys travelling downstream and the fish were taking my pheasant tail patterns freely. The beat I fish doesn’t normally hold trout of a large size anymore due to poaching, but it was very encouraging to see 4 wild browns over the 1lb mark come to the net. Some of you Stillwater fisherman may think of that size as bait, but on a river these fish put up a great scrap!

20130604-221928.jpg

First day back at work and iv already lined up some fishing at the weekend with a friend of mine, bring it on!

20130604-222011.jpg

20130604-222036.jpg

20130604-222055.jpg